Chicken And Sweetcorn Chowder With Smoked Sausage [Nigel Slater Project #29]

IMG_8896-3

 

So the days are getting shorter and my work hours are getting longer. When I was a student I was getting four sometimes five days to do uni work and then whatever else took my fancy. I should’ve valued these days more! I’m now doing more hours at work as I’m trying to save my socks off and the colder the flat, the more money needs to be spent on trying to heat this place up! Plus…Christmas is coming, in FORTY NINE DAYS!

I’m having trouble posting on the blog as I’m only getting a day or two to cook, photograph, and squeezing out as much natural daylight as possible. As Project Nigel is the project that I’ve got into a rhythm with, this is the one post that I will be dedicating my allotted blog time to, until I succeed at organising my time.  I really wish I could do it everyday.

In other news, I’ve just munched down a super tasty, earthy, autumnal salad that will be coming this week. ARE YOU EXCITED? I thought so.

But for now, here is a recipe I had doubts about while making it. I’ve never made a chowder It’s not the prettiest of dishes (not until you try to arrange it for it’s close up) I made the mistake of using chorizo instead of a different kind of smoked sausage. This in turn resulted in an oily finish to the soup which was pretty hard to get rid of. However it all tasted rather lovely. Filling, creamy, and belly warming.

Shall we?

 

IMG_8868-2

 

IMG_8881-2

Serves 3/4 as a main course

-50g of butter

– 2 small leeks, thinly sliced

– a medium potato

– 3 ears of corn

–  1L chicken stock

– 250g free range chicken thighs or breast

– 150g smoked sausage, skinned

– 1 tsp thyme leaves

– 100ml whipping cream

– 2 tbsp chopped parsley

Melt the butter in a deep heavy pan/pot and cook the leeks slowly until soft. Add the diced potato. With a sharp knife, scrape away the corn from the root. Bring the stock to the boil and add the sweetcorn and the chicken, turn the heat down and simmer for ten minutes.

Cut the sausage into rounds and drop them in with the softened leeks. Stir in the thyme and continue cooking on a gentle heat. Remove the chicken and sweetcorn from the stock into the leeks and continue simmering.

Slice the chicken pieces and add to the soup with some seasoning of salt and black pepper. Simmer for ten minutes then add the cream and chopped parsley. Bring almost to the boil and stir often, serve with an extra garnish of parsley.

IMG_8900-2

One thought on “Chicken And Sweetcorn Chowder With Smoked Sausage [Nigel Slater Project #29]

Leave a Reply

